Ibadan obas surrender to Olubadan, drop crowns - TM NEWS ONLINE

Zenith Bank

Popular Posts

All Inclusive Reality Show

Access Bank

Access Bank
Access Bank Plc


Ibadan obas surrender to Olubadan, drop crowns

Share This

It appears the embattled 21 new “obas” in Ibadan have finally surrendered to the conditions of peace laid down by the Olubadan of Ibadan land, Oba Saliu Adetunji, by dropping their crowns.

The controversial obas, who are High Chiefs of Ibadanland and members of the Olubadan-in-Council, were part of the monarch’s entourage to the ongoing South West security meeting at the International Conference Centre of the University of Ibadan.

Today marks the first time both the Olubadan and his high chiefs, would jointly appear at a public function, since their controversial crownng in August 2017 by the immediate past governor of Oyo State Sen. Abiola Ajimobi.

At the event on Monday, the High Chiefs were seen wearing their hats and sitting two lines behind the Olubadan as members of his entourage.

The High Chiefs had boycotted the palace after the Olubadan opposed their crowning. They had their meetings at Mapo Hall without the Olubadan who had insisted that the only condition for reconciliation was for the High Chiefs to drop their crowns and wait for their time to ascend the throne of the Olubadan since they were all in the line to the throne.

But the High Chiefs stood their ground, stressing that their crowning was already gazetted by the state government.

Today’s event however suggests that peace may be returning to the palace in a move that started quietly some months ago when some of them started visiting the monarch in his palace without wearing crowns.

Present at the event were: the Otun Olubadan, High Chief Lekan Balogun; Asipa Olubadab, High Chief Eddy Oyewole; Balogun Olubadan, High Chief Owolabi Olakulehin; the Asipa Balogun, High Chief Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe; the Ekarun Olubadan, High Chief Amidu Ajibade and the Ekarun Balogun High Chief Adegbola.

Other monarchs at the meeting are Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi; Olugbo of Ugbo land, Oba Frederick Akinruntan; Oba of Lagos, Oba Rildwan Akilu and a host of others.

No comments:

Post a Comment